Fergus1s’s Weblog
I hope this blog is somewhat educational.

Introduction….

A brief introduction about myself…my name is Sarah Ferguson, and I am in my third year of my ed degree in Arts Education, with a major in Visual Art and a minor in Literature. I have a BFA in visual art, with a major in intermedia studies, namely drawing and video…and I write like a demon. Some of my interests include writing, drawing, philosophizing, playing guitar, and being generally creative in everything I do. Sometimes this means learning to think outside mainstream thought patterns, and I pride myself on being an inventive, original thinker.

Much of my family is from Saskatchewan, and I am a dyed in the wool prairie girl. I really do miss this place when I go away, although I do love to travel…

Technology doesn’t really scare me, per say. I have had a lot of experience with it over the years, and love the challenge of learning new things, especially in regard to communication, the internet, and computer art. Of course what I learn is usually relevant to my interests, but I think most people are that way. I have worked with other forms of technology, especially cell phones, having worked in a call center for a large American phone company for a few years. I don’t think technology is as scary as people might think. A lot of it relates to common sense, and patience.

I feel that addressing technology in the classroom today is paramount. Students are bombarded with information continuously, through a variety of sources, but especially through the internet. Anything is available to our students, and anything they want to learn about is just a click away. So I do agree with us becoming more “facilitative” and less of a role as fountain of knowledge. We also need to be checkpoints for the knowledge that is being absorbed, and we should use the knowledge that our students bring into the classroom as springboards for new approaches to education. Naturally, there are limits as to what is deemed appropriate, and it is important to tread carefully, but nonetheless, we do need to acknowledge that students will access suggestive and sensitive information and teachers definitely need to keep this in mind when they are dealing with students in their classrooms.

I also feel that using technologies via the internet as part of assignments is a great way for students to incorporate learning into their lifestyles. Rather than keep it separate from the classroom, why not make it part of the learning experience? Interactive learning stimulates interest, and subjects will stick faster if the student is engaged. The internet and technology are perfect for accentuating learning abilities in students, by letting them interact, not just locally, but even on a global scale. It is an exciting time to be a teacher, because of what is available to students today.

I expect this class will help me adapt technology to the learning environment and will prepare me for teaching in today’s age by providing me with new tools and approaches, so that I can maximize the learning potential of my students. I hope to learn as much as I can about what technology can do for learning environments, and I hope to have fun while I do it!

2 Responses to “Introduction….”

  1. Your experiences and perspective will be valuable in this class. I really look forward to your insights and contributions.

  2. I found this blog insightful, especially when you said ‘we should use the knowledge that our students bring into the classroom as springboards for new approaches to education’. This seems like a simple concept, but after being in the schools, unfortunately many teachers are not open to using technology, let alone adapting their practice to build from student knowledge/interests. This is what we’re taught as educators (in this generation) but many teachers have their preset units and ways of doing things/teaching. I hope you can implement your strong philosophy into your pre-internship because it will transform education and is a growing need!


Leave a Reply

