Fergus1s’s Weblog
I hope this blog is somewhat educational.

A positive site for self esteem and our students

As an educator, I am always looking for new sites to add to my arsenal and teaching. One site that I came across is campaignforrealbeauty.ca, which is actually Dove soap! They have many tools and resources on this site, for building self esteem in young women, and girls. There are quizzes, opportunities for discussion and a lot of positive messages on this site that can be integrated into a health unit, or possibly even psychology classes…the idea is of course, that the media promotes and bombards girls from an early age, and of course we are not aware of it. Often, because of the immense amount of bombardment by the media, and the access to information, children are forced to grow up faster these days, and have seen much more than those of us who grew up pre internet… I urge educators to check out the dove site. It is one of the most uplifting experiences to see a corporation rebel against the mainstream, rather than blindly promote a damaging value system.

I will leave you with this video url….. I tried to embed it here, but it doesnt seem to take for some reason…

http://www.campaignforrealbeauty.ca/dsef07/t5.aspx?id=7985&filmno=0

 Still hoping to have my photostory done today, and the rest of my narration caught up. My final project is about graffiti art, and I have the powerpoint in the works, almost done…I will be using audacity to get the sound on there properly.

One Response to “A positive site for self esteem and our students”

  1. Wow, this is such a good idea. Having a positive self esteem can be so hard in the media driven world we live in today. As teachers it’s important to remind our students how important and special they really are. That way they can focus on learning instead of worrying about the size of their hips. great stuff!


Leave a Reply

